Lahinch Golf Club is a world renowned links golf course in the village of Lahinch on the northwest coast of County Clare, in northern Munster, Ireland. It is situated approximately 20 miles northwest of the town of Ennis. Founded in 1892 by officials of Limerick Golf Club Alexander W.Shaw and Richard J. Plummer, they laid out an 18-hole course, the original course had ten holes on each side of the road. It has often been described as the “St. Andrew’s” of Ireland. The original links was laid out by Old Tom Morris. Alister MacKenzie, who co-designed Augusta National Golf Club, redesigned the Old Course and extended the links in 1927 for a fee of £2000. Lahinch is actually two 18 hole courses, the Old Course, is between the road and the sea, situated at the opposite side of the road from the Old Course is the Castle Course. The Castle Course is a flatter links named after the ruins of a nearby castle tower that stands to the north of the course.